top of page

Heidi Carlson gives us the 411


How did you get started in bodybuilding?

I had been fitness modelling for about three years and I was pretty much oblivious to the competition world. It wasn’t until a fellow model that I was working with told me how she was training for a fitness competition. I picked her brain about every detail that it involved and then went straight home and did more research. I concluded that any sport/competition that focused on a personal fitness journey which ended up in head to toe glamour was something I wanted to be a part of!

Soon after I started training with “Next Level” in San Diego and went to work.

Where does your motivation come from?

My biggest motivation is knowing what I’m capable of and having a strong desire to live up to my full potential. I never want to wonder about what I could have accomplished.

That is why every goal that I aim to achieve I make sure that I a give it my absolute all!

What workout routine has worked best for you?

Full Routine.

Monday: Lower Body/Abs

  • Squats 4×8-10

  • Leg Press 4×8-10

  • Romanian Deadlift 4×10-12

  • Weighted Hip Thrust 4×8-10

  • Butt Blaster/Donkey Kicks 3×12-15

  • Seated Leg Curl 3×10-12

  • Standing Calf Raise 3×15-20

  • Cable Ab Crunch on Ball 3×15-20

  • Low Back Extension 3×15-20

Tuesday: Upper body

  • Negative Pull-ups 4×3-4

  • DB Shoulder Press 3×8-10

  • Smith Machine Reverse Grip Shoulder Press 3×8-10

  • DB Lateral Raise 3×8-10

  • Lat Pulldown 4×8-10

  • Rear Deltoid Fly 3×10-12

  • Decline Skull Crusher 4×10-12

  • EZ Bar Curl 4×10-12

  • Incline Reverse Crunch 3x max reps

Wednesday: Cardio

  • 30 min HIIT cardio

Thursday: Lower body/abs

  • Walking Lunges 3×10-12

  • Hack Squat 4×10-12

  • Sumo Romanian Deadlift 4×10-12

  • Weighted Hip Thrust 4×6-8

  • Hip Adduction 3×12-15

  • Cable Ab Crunch on Ball 3×15-20

  • Low Back Extension 3×15-20

Friday: Upper Body

  • Negative Pull-ups 4×3-4

  • Seated Military Press 3×8-10

  • DB Lateral Raise 3×8-10

  • Lat Pulldown 4×8-10

  • Wide Grip Cable Row 4×10-12

  • Close Grip Bench Press 4×6-8

  • Dumbbell Overhead Tricep Extension 3×8-10

  • Cable Preacher Curl 3×10-12

  • Hanging Leg Raise 3x max reps

Saturday: Cardio

  • 30 min HIIT cardio

Sunday: Rest day

  • Recovery

If you have to pick only 3 exercises, what would they be and why?

  1. Negative Pull-ups: These are a complete upper body workout that always leave me sore the next day!

  2. Weighted Hip Thrusts: You can always improve your glutes and for me these bring the best results.

  3. Cable Ab Crunch: These always give me a good burn in my abs.

What is your diet like?

Daily diet:

  • Meal 1: Egg Whites, Oatmeal and Blueberries

  • Meal 2: Chicken Breast, Broccoli and Sweet Potato

  • Meal 3: Tilapia, Brown Rice, Strawberries, Asparagus and Almonds

  • Meal 4: Yams, Green Beans and Lean Turkey

  • Meal 5: Chicken, Spinach and a Salad

What is your supplementation like?

  • Women’s Active Multivitamin

  • Fish Oil

  • Whey Protein

  • Vitamin C

  • Potassium

Favorite Quote?

“Our deepest fear is not that we are Inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not out darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be?” -Marianna WIlliamson


Comments


Recent Posts
bottom of page