top of page

IFBB Pro Maya Puliyska

We interviewed Maya, and got the lowdown on her success and fitness regime.

StartFragment

How did you get started with bodybuilding?

I’ve been addicted to bodybuilding since I was a child. I started with Taekwondo and at 15 I entered the gym for the first time. I’ve been training ever since. When I was 18, I started boxing and did it competitively for 7 years. I gave up boxing due to multiple injuries, but I never gave up training. I always trained with the main purpose of sculpturing my body, but I missed the competitive aspect of boxing. So in 2012 I stepped on the stage for the very first time and competed in Figure.

I stayed in the Figure Category for 3 years. But then I decided to switch to the Bikini Category and that is how it all started!

Where does your motivation come from?

I love the challenge of creating a perfect physique. I constantly feel the need to improve myself; it makes me feel alive and focused. I am always thrilled to compete no matter how I place.

EndFragment

What workout routine has worked best for you?

When I’m bulking, I train hard and heavy with supersets and drop sets combined with a high caloric intake. When I’m cutting, I lower my caloric intake and increase my cardio.

Full Routine:

Monday: Legs/Glutes

  • Squats 5 x 12

  • Walking Lunges 4 x 15

  • Leg Press 4 x 15

  • Lying Leg Curl 3 x 15

  • Stiff Legged Deadlifts 3 x 15

  • Glute Cable Kickbacks 4 x 15-20

  • Hip Abductor 4 x 15-20

  • Standing Calf Raise 5 x 20

EndFragment

EndFragment

Tuesday: Back/Triceps/Rear Delts

  • Pull Ups 5 x Failure

  • Close Grip Pulldowns 4 x 12

  • Single Arm Dumbbell Row 4 x 10

  • Seated Cable Row 3 x 12

  • Deadlifts 5 x 12-10

  • Reverse Pec Dec Machine 5 x 12

  • Tricep Rope Pulldowns 3 x 12

  • Lying Skull Crushers 3 x 12

  • Dumbbell Kickbacks 3 x 15

Wednesday: Chest/Biceps/Shoulders/Abs

  • Incline Bench Press 3 x 12

  • Dumbbell Flat Press 3 x 12

  • Dumbbell Pullover 3 x 15

  • Dumbbell Shoulder Press 4 x 12

  • Lateral Raise 4 x 12

  • Wide Grip Upright Row 3 x 15

  • Barbell Curl 3 x 12

  • Preacher Bench Barbell Curl 3 x 12

  • Rope Hammer Curl 3 x 12

  • Abs Circuit 3 x 20EndFragment

Thursday: Rest

  • Recovery

EndFragment

Friday: Legs

  • Squats 5 x 12

  • Walking Lunges 4 x 15

  • Leg Press 4 x 15

  • Lying Leg Curl 3 x 15

  • Stiff Legged Deadlifts 3 x 15

  • Glute Cable Kickbacks 4 x 15-20

  • Hip Abductor 4 x 15-20

  • Standing Calf Raise 5 x 20

Saturday: Shoulders/Abs

  • Smith Machine Overhead Press 4 x 12

  • Dumbbell Lateral Raise 4 x 12

  • Dumbbell Upright Row 3 x 12

  • Dumbbell Front Raise 3 x 12

  • Dumbbell Reverse Flys 4 x 12

  • Abs Circuit 3 x 20

Sunday: Rest

  • Recovery.

EndFragment

What is your supplementation like?

  • Protein

  • BCAA’s

  • L-Carnitine

  • Multivitamin

  • Fish Oil

EndFragment

What is your diet like?

To stay lean, I eat pretty clean, but once in a while I like to indulge in pizza, chocolate or ice cream.

  • Meal 1: 1 cup of Egg Whites, 1/2 cup of Oats and 1 piece of Fruit

  • Meal 2: 4 ounces Cod, 1 cup Rice and 1 cup Vegetables

  • Meal 3: 4 ounces Chicken, 3 ounces Sweet Potato and 4 Asparagus Spears

  • Meal 4: 3 ounces Turkey, 3 ounces Sweet Potato and 1 cup of Cucumber

  • Meal 5: 4 ounces Chicken Breasts, 1 cup of Cucumber and 1 cup of Spinach

  • Meal 6: 1 scoop Whey Protein and 1 tablespoon of Peanut Butter

StartFragment

Favorite Quote?

“If you really want it, work for it!”

EndFragment

EndFragment

EndFragment

EndFragment


Recent Posts
bottom of page